Frederick Reiken







Foreign Editions






About the Author


Frederick Reiken is the author of three novels, most recently Day For Night, which was published to great acclaim with Reagan Arthur Books of Little, Brown, as well as Little Brown U.K. in Great Britain and Australia. Translations have been published in the following languages: Dutch (De Harmonie), French (Grasset), Spanish (Alianza Editorial), and Hebrew (Keter).

Day for Night was a finalist for the 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize in fiction and was cited as one of the best books of 2010 by the Washington Post and the Kansas City Star. London’s Daily Telegraph listed Reiken as one of the “10 rising literary stars of 2010.”

His debut novel, The Odd Sea, won the Hackney Literary Award for a first novel and was a finalist for the Barnes & Noble Discover Prize. It was cited as one of the best first novels of the year by Library Journal and Booklist.

His follow-up, The Lost Legends of New Jersey, was a national bestseller, a New York Times Notable Book, and a Best Book of the Year for both the Los Angeles Times and the Christian Science Monitor.

His short stories have appeared in publications including The New Yorker, Glimmer Train, Gulf Coast, and the Western Humanities Review, and his essays have appeared in The Writer’s Chronicle.

Formerly a news reporter, columnist, and nature writer, he is a professor in the Department of Writing, Literature, and Publishing at Emerson College. He lives in western Massachusetts with his wife and daughters.




Books by Frederick Reiken

Day for Night

The Lost Legends of New Jersey

The Odd Sea


Day for Night ·  The Lost Legends of New Jersey ·  The Odd Sea

Home ·  Author ·  Books · News & Events ·  Links ·   Foreign Editions ·  Contact  ·  © 2010 Frederick Reiken ·  All Rights Reserved